Home The Boy and The Heron Gets Oscar Nomination for Best Animated Feature

The Boy and The Heron Gets Oscar Nomination for Best Animated Feature

Studio Ghibli’s The Boy and The Heron received an Oscar nomination in the Best Animated Feature category. The film was nominated alongside Elemental, Nimona, Robot Dreams, and Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse. Hayao Miyazaki,’s latest movie recently won a Golden Globe Award for Best Animated Motion Picture.

GKIDS, which has licensed the film for theatrical release in North America, posted a congratulatory post on its official X (Twitter) account:

Aside from this Oscar nomination, it is also worth noting that The Boy and the Heron has also won other multiple awards in the US: the Los Angeles Film Critics Association, New York Film Critics Circle Awards, San Diego Film Critic Society, Chicago Film Critics Association, Boston Society of Film Critics, Philadelphia Film Critics Circle, Dallas Forth-Worth Film Critics Association, and the Florida Film Critic Circle.

The Boy and The Heron – English Dub Trailer

The 96th Academy Awards ceremony will be held at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles, California, on March 10, 2024. Other nominees include:

Best Picture

  • American Fiction
  • Anatomy of a Fall
  • Barbie
  • The Holdovers
  • Killers of the Flower Moon
  • Maestro
  • Oppenheimer
  • Past Lives
  • Poor Things
  • The Zone of Interest

Best Director

  • Justine Triet (Anatomy of a Fall)
  • Martin Scorsese (Killers of the Flower Moon)
  • Christopher Nolan (Oppenheimer)
  • Yorgos Lanthimos (Poor Things)
  • Jonathan Glazer (The Zone of Interest)

Best International Feature Film

  • Io capitano (Italy)
  • Perfect Days (Japan)
  • Society of the Snow (Spain)
  • The Teachers’ Lounge (Germany)
  • The Zone of Interest (United Kingdom)

Best Actor

  • Bradley Cooper – Maestro as Leonard Bernstein
  • Colman Domingo – Rustin as Bayard Rustin
  • Paul Giamatti – The Holdovers as Paul Hunham
  • Cillian Murphy – Oppenheimer as J. Robert Oppenheimer
  • Jeffrey Wright – American Fiction as Thelonius “Monk” Ellison

Best Actress

  • Annette Bening – Nyad as Diana Nyad
  • Lily Gladstone – Killers of the Flower Moon as Mollie Burkhart
  • Sandra Hüller – Anatomy of a Fall as Sandra Voyter
  • Carey Mulligan – Maestro as Felicia Montealegre Bernstein
  • Emma Stone – Poor Things as Bella Baxter / Victoria Blessington

Best Supporting Actor

  • Sterling K. Brown – American Fiction as Clifford “Cliff” Ellison
  • Robert De Niro – Killers of the Flower Moon as William King Hale
  • Robert Downey Jr. – Oppenheimer as Lewis Strauss
  • Ryan Gosling – Barbie as Ken
  • Mark Ruffalo – Poor Things as Duncan Wedderburn

Best Supporting Actress

  • Emily Blunt – Oppenheimer as Katherine “Kitty” Oppenheimer
  • Danielle Brooks – The Color Purple as Sofia Johnson
  • America Ferrera – Barbie as Gloria
  • Jodie Foster – Nyad as Bonnie Stoll
  • Da’Vine Joy Randolph – The Holdovers as Mary Lamb

Best Original Screenplay

  • Anatomy of a Fall – Justine Triet and Arthur Harari
  • The Holdovers – David Hemingson
  • Maestro – Bradley Cooper and Josh Singer
  • May December – Screenplay by Samy Burch; Story by Samy Burch and Alex Mechanik
  • Past Lives – Celine Song

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • American Fiction – Cord Jefferson; based on the novel Erasure by Percival Everett
  • Barbie – Greta Gerwig and Noah Baumbach; based on characters created by Ruth Handler
  • Oppenheimer – Christopher Nolan; based on the biography American Prometheus by Kai Bird and Martin J. Sherwin
  • Poor Things – Tony McNamara; based on the novel by Alisdair Gray
  • The Zone of Interest – Jonathan Glazer; based on the novel by Martin Amis

Best Cinematography

  • El Conde – Edward Lachman
  • Killers of the Flower Moon – Rodrigo Prieto
  • Maestro – Matthew Libatique
  • Oppenheimer – Hoyte van Hoytema
  • Poor Things – Robbie Ryan

Best Film Editing

  • Anatomy of a Fall – Laurent Sénéchal
  • The Holdovers – Kevin Tent
  • Killers of the Flower Moon – Thelma Schoonmaker
  • Oppenheimer – Jennifer Lame
  • Poor Things – Yorgos Mavropsaridis

Best Production Design

  • Barbie – Production Design: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
  • Killers of the Flower Moon – Production Design: Jack Fisk; Set Decoration: Adam Willis
  • Napoleon – Production Design: Arthur Max; Set Decoration: Elli Griff
  • Oppenheimer – Production Design: Ruth De Jong; Set Decoration: Claire Kaufman
  • Poor Things – Production Design: James Price and Shona Heath; Set Decoration: Zsuzsa Mihalek

Best Sound

  • The Creator
  • Maestro
  • Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One
  • Oppenheimer
  • The Zone of Interest

Best Original Score

  • American Fiction – Laura Karpman
  • Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny – John Williams
  • Killers of the Flower Moon – Robbie Robertson
  • Oppenheimer – Ludwig Göransson
  • Poor Things – Jerskin Fendrix

Best Original Song

  • “The Fire Inside” from Flamin’ Hot – Music and Lyrics by Diane Warren
  • “I’m Just Ken” from Barbie – Music and Lyrics by Mark Ronson, Andrew Wyatt
  • “Quiet Eyes” from Past Lives – Music and Lyrics by Sharon Van Etten
  • “Road To Freedom” from Rustin – Music and Lyrics by Lenny Kravitz
  • “What Was I Made For?” from Barbie – Music by Andrew Wyatt, Finneas, Mark Ronson; Lyrics by Billie Eilish O’Connell, Finneas O’Connell

Best Visual Effects

  • The Creator
  • Godzilla Minus One
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3
  • Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One
  • Napoleon

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

  • Golda – Karen Hartley Thomas, Suzi Battersby and Ashra Kelly-Blue
  • Maestro – Kazu Hiro, Kay Georgiou and Lory McCoy-Bell
  • Oppenheimer – Luisa Abel
  • Poor Things – Nadia Stacey, Mark Coulier and Josh Weston
  • Society of the Snow – Ana Lopez-Puigcerver, David Marti and Montse Ribe

Best Costume Design

  • Barbie – Jacqueline Durran
  • Killers of the Flower Moon – Jacqueline West
  • Napoleon – Janty Yates and Dave Crossman
  • Oppenheimer – Ellen Mirojnick
  • Poor Things – Holly Waddington

The Boy and The Heron joins other Studio Ghibli films that have been nominated for an Oscar, which includes Spirited Away (which won an Oscar in 2003), Howl’s Moving Castle, The Wind Rises, The Tale of the Princess Kaguya, When Marnie Was There, and The Red Turtle (a co-production project with several French companies, including Wild Bunch and Belvision).

Source: Oscar Nominations Page
©2023 Studio Ghibli

You may also like

The comments are temporarily unavailable for maintenance.