Home Time Patrol Bon Gets Anime Series Adaptation by Studio Bones

Time Patrol Bon Gets Anime Series Adaptation by Studio Bones

The Time Patrol Bon (stylized as T・P BON) manga by the popular manga duo Fujiko Fujio is getting an anime series adaptation by Studio Bones. Netflix is producing the series, which will be distributed next year. The announcement was made on the 90th anniversary of Fujiko F. Fujio’s birth.

Time Patrol Bon anime series adaptation – Teaser Trailer

Studio Bones’ Team A, which previously worked on The Case Study of Vanitas, is in charge of the adaptation. Masahiro Ando (Ghost in the Shell, Neon Genesis Evangelion: The End of Evangelion, Cowboy Bebop: The Movie) is directing the series, with Michiru Oshima doing the music. The main cast has been announced as well, which includes Akihisa Wakayama as Bon Namihira and Atsumi Tanezaki as Ream Stream.

This is the first proper Time Patrol Bon anime series, following the 1989 anime special, which was animated by studio Gallop, known for their works on titles such as the original 1996 Rurouni Kenshin series, Initial D First Stage, and several Yu☆Gi☆Oh! titles, among others.

Time Patrol Bon is based on the science fiction manga by Fujiko Fujio, composed of mangakas Hiroshi Fujimoto (Fujiko Fujio A) and Motoo Abiko (Fujiko F. Fujio). The manga was released in three parts, from 1978 to 1986 under the Comic Tom imprint. The manga revolves around the story of an ordinary boy who becomes an apprentice member of the futuristic organization “T.P.” (Time Patrol), which secretly saves people who have suffered unfortunate deaths from all over the world and all eras.

Time Patrol Bon anime series adaptation – Cast

Abiko is known for his work as the creator of the Doraemon series. His career started with the manga UTOPIA the Final World War, published in 1953 (under the duo’s pen name). This was followed by Little Ghost Q-Taro, which was serialized from 1964 to 1966. Abiko first started his own manga series titled Futa-kun, which ran from 1964 to 1967. He is known for several manga titles including Ninja Hattori, The Monster Kid, The Laughing Salesman, and Saru the ProGolfer. His latest solo work was PARman’s Passionate Days, which ran from 2007 to 2015. PARman’s is considered Abiko’s final work and a memoir before he announced a hiatus in 2015.

Meanwhile, Fujimoto was well known for his works that included Perman (1967), 21 Emon: The 21st Century Kid (1968), Mojacko (1969), Kiteretsu Encyclopedia (1974), and Rocky Rackat! (1975), and Alien Mr. Andro (1995). Fujimoto died in 1996 due to complications related to liver cancer and heart disease.

The Fujiko Fujio duo employed different storytelling styles, with Abiko using black humor in his writeups while Fujimoto focused on teen-centric themes. The duo split up in 1987 due to creative differences and issues surrounding intellectual property and finance regarding their works.

Source: Doraemon Channel Press Release
©Fujiko Productions, Shogakukan, TV Asahi, Shinei, ADK

You may also like

The comments are temporarily unavailable for maintenance.